Historic Tours:
Authentic Paso Robles

Self-Guided Tours of Paso Robles

Tour Description

Tour our still-relevant historic sites on Day One and taste wines from the oldest vineyards in the area still being made by the descendants of area settlers and early pioneers on Day Two.

Day One Route Map: goo.gl/maps/vjnyj

A. Paso Robles Inn

In 1889, the same year that Paso Robles incorporated as a city, demand for lodging was far outpacing supply and construction began on a magnificent new hotel. The El Paso de Robles Hotel opened for business in 1891, attracting visitors from all over the world to the largest hot springs resort in existence. Famous visitors included famed Polish composer and diplomat Ignace Paderewski, the Pittsburgh Pirates for spring training and the outlaw Jesse James. The hotel was destroyed by fire in 1940 and rebuilt as the Paso Robles Inn in 1941. The original grand ballroom escaped the fire and exists to this day in almost exactly the same form as it was in 1889. www.pasoroblesinn.com

B. Pioneer Museum

The dream of having a museum to preserve local history and celebrate the rural way of life began in 1971 and has been building steam since then. This beloved institution perfectly captures pioneer life in a community-minded small town while making history come alive. Exhibits include everything from Indian arrowheads to antique tractors to steam engines and even includes an historic and beautiful old one-room school house. Give yourself some time to explore this unique museum and you will realize why it is so important to preserve and celebrate our past.  www.pasoroblespioneermuseum.org

C. Carnegie Library / Historical Society

El Paso de Robles Area Historical Society is a non-profit public benefit corporation whose purpose is to collect and preserve historic properties, objects, and papers of historical interest related to the Paso Robles area and its citizens. The Carnegie Historic Library is the official home of the Historical Society, which assumed stewardship of the building in 1995. The Historical Society makes available to the public, exhibits and displays on the main floor which showcase the history of the area. Exhibits change on a quarterly basis. The Virginia Peterson Research Room, located on the lower level, contains an extensive collection of archival materials related to the area’s history and volunteers are available on site to assist visitors with research requests. The Carnegie Historic Library is open Tuesday, and Thursday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Sunday 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Admission is free. www.pasorobleshistoricalsociety.org

D. Historic Train Depot / Anglim Winery

Anglim Winery is located in the historic Paso Robles train depot at 8th and Pine streets. Construction began on the Paso Robles station in December 1886, just two months after the arrival of the first train to Paso Robles. A boxcar was used for a temporary station until January 1887, when the depot was completed. In 1980, the city opened the current, more modern train station next door to the site of the original. The original station lay vacant for some period, until it was converted to retail use, retaining the original floors and windows, and rebuilding the interior to retain the original look and feel. Anglim Winery opened their tasting room at the location in May 2005. www.anglimwinery.com

E. Pine Street Saloon

In 1888 J. Campbell operated a saloon at 1236-1238 Pine Street, the original site of the Pine Street Saloon before the 2003 San Simeon Earthquake. For many years back then it served as a saloon, a billiard parlor and a card room. It was one of the oldest brick structures in Paso Robles. (From their website): "Old records give some indication that the first floor was used as a saloon, and the second floor a boarding house, and as story again tells... a bordello… Sometime in those early days it housed the Cosmopolitan Hotel and a saloon. In the 1890’s it was known as the Young Hotel. It was a popular hotel where delicious food was served at reasonable rates. In 1960 it became Estrada’s Bar. But, now and maybe forever, it is known as the Pine Street Saloon.” www.pinestreetsaloon.com

View these on a map: goo.gl/maps/vjnyj

DAY TWO >>>>

Back to Top